Two Years

Happy Rescue Day Kali!

Two years ago today I found a more dead-than-alive hairless & sick something-that-resembles-a-dog at Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Kali1

Not sure if we could help that little bundle, my friend Otta and me still took her along to the KAT Centre. After all, Pashupati is the incarnation of the Hindu god Lord Shiva as Lord of the Animals.

Kali2

The first talk to the local vets was disillusioning. They asked if we wanted to bring her back to the temple or if they should put her to sleep right there.

It was a death sentence. They didn’t give her an other day to live.

In all truth, she looked miserable. And me, being a rookie in the world of Nepali street dog care, didn’t know any better. So, I agreed. Reluctantly, but I did agree in the end.

I’m not someone to clinch to life, for life’s sake, if there’s no chance of healing. If euthanasia is the only way we can help an animal, they deserve us to take the last steps with them and end their suffering.

But not with an empty belly. Food makes everything better. I wanted that emaciated dog to at least once in its life get a bowl of food and experience a full stomach.

So she got a bowl of rice and cooked chicken.

And all of sudden there was a spark of life in this lethargic animal. A spark only, but life nonetheless.

We had an empty kennel in the isolation unit, so the vets agreed to put her in there and see if she’d make it through the night.

Sometimes all it takes is a bowl of food to change all odds.

Kali

She got better from day to day with the firm goal of proving the vets wrong. And how wrong they were…

She was found in a Shiva temple and was a female, so we decided to name her Kali, after the mother goddess in Hinduism and the female consort of Lord Shiva.

Kali2

First came some fat. Yay! That skeleton started to look like a living being again!

Kali3

Two more weeks passed and the first hair started to regrow. Slowly looks like a dog again, not?

Kali4

Time flew… And we discovered it was indeed a puppy we found. She started playing! And joined in all kinds of mischief with the canine gang at KAT.

Kali5

This is what she looked like nine weeks after we picked her up, a couple days before I had to fly back to Switzerland.

At this point I had already made my decision to try and get her to Switzerland. She was chipped and vaccinated already.

The hardest part was to organize a way to fly a dog from Nepal in Asia to Switzerland in Europe.

First we tried to find someone who would fly this way anyway, and could take Kali as part of his baggage. That search was futile.

So off to find an airline that would transport a dog alone as cargo. Which is not easy at all, let me tell you this.

Only Qatar Cargo would do this. The flight would take Kali from Kathmandu to Doha to Zurich.

I won’t write about all the struggles that were yet to come in trying to organize this flight. For every two steps forward, we took one step back as well. It was a tedious and wearing time.
If you need any help shipping dogs, let me know, I’ll be glad to help. However, be warned, if it is about a “rabies risk country” like Nepal, this is going to be hard.

In the end, everything worked out, as it always does in Nepal. Somehow everything works out.

Finally, on February 10th 2012, after so many months, Kali arrived at the airport in Zurich.

KaliZurich

It’s two years today that I stumbled across what would turn out to be the best dog ever!

I count myself extremely lucky to have this once-in-a-lifetime dog here with me. I didn’t know what kind of dog I was looking for, but in her I got all I ever needed. My student and my teacher.

11159

I want to thank everyone who helped us on this way. You are all amazing and dear to my heart. We would not be where we are today, without the help and support of so many people. Thank you!

521500

We experienced a lot of happy moments and adventures in these last two years. And there’s many more waiting…

We climbed mountains. And we’ll hit the 2800 meters above sea level this summer.

We made lots of new friends, both human and canine, and love the social walks with our local doggy gang.

We started avalanche Search and Rescue training this winter. And had some first wilderness SAR training a couple weeks ago. Kali does fantastic in the field and surpasses all our expectations on a regular basis. Who knows where this will carry us in the future?

We even were on Swiss TV for some seconds promoting the Yellow Dog Campaign!

KaliTartan

I love working with her on the little problems we have, enjoying every single day. Although she can be a pain in the ass if she once again tries to steal the cats’ food…

As she’s jumping around in front of me, trying very hard but not succeeding at catch flies, she makes me smile.

You’re the best I could ever have hoped for. Thank you, Kali for two amazing years.

And here’s to many many more!!

1861

Click the picture above to get to Kali’s Youtube Video!

10 thoughts on “Two Years

  1. She turned out to be a handsome and interesting dog. You did a good thing for her and she is glad to be with you. Thank you for saving her. <3

  2. Pingback: From Nepal to Switzerland: A Street Dog TransformedA Street Dog's Story

  3. Pingback: Happy Got-Here Day! | A Dog in the Mountains

  4. Loved reading your story…what a fantastic effort and so good she has turned out to be your best friend!!….You would never believe she was the same unhappy starved dog when you see the pictures later. Good on you!

Leave a Reply

